Ever Have Digestive Issues?

All throughout my life I have been surrounded by people with mild to severe digestive issues and growing up I never quite understood what these folks were going through. I personally don’t experience the symptoms that go along with the IBS diagnosis, such as constipation and diarrhea but now I have a strong urge to help those around me suffer less.

Over the last year I have become more aware of my body, I have come to the conclusion that I have lower than normal levels of HCL to properly digest my foods. This is preventing my body from up-taking the nutrients I need from those food sources which has lead to health issues such as dry skin, allergies and not being able to gain weight. I decided it was time to finally take charge of my gut!!

Everything begins in the gut, it is our second brain where 95% of serotonin is created. So if you are feeling depressed, having anxiety, chronic fatigue, autoimmune disorders (such as hypothyroidism, type 1 diabetes, psoriasis, crohn’s, and colitis) it’s most likely physically manifested due to gut dysbiosis.

I’ve written about fungal overgrowth known as candida, but have you heard of small intestinal bacterial overgrowth? Known as SIBO for short, a lot of digestive issues like gas, bloating, IBS C (constipation), and IBS D (diarrhea) have been linked to this. So how do we bring the gut to a state of equilibrium from those pesky bacterias? Following a low FODMAP diet has significantly shown to change the gut microbiome diversity and help decrease symptoms. FODMAP stands for Fermentable Oligo-, Di-, Mono-saccharides And Polyols.

Being a holistic health coach, I never recommend staying on a diet for more than 30-60 days because diets are usually a one size fits all solution and I’ve come to learn that each individual needs their own unique diet that specifically works for them. I recommend creating a lifestyle out of it, diets are short-term and usually benefit during detoxes and cleanses but a lifestyle is one that will have you feeling your best your whole life! Eliminating foods you know that cause you discomfort should be easy to give up, adding probiotic supplements and food sources are vital!

Oligosaccharides are indigestible, humans lack the enzymes to break it down in the small intestine, so once it reaches the large intestine, the good bacteria ferment (break down) to nutrients that are absorbed for energy. The following foods should be eaten in smaller quantities to prevent gas and bloating:

  • beans
  • peas
  • lentils
  • cabbage
  • whole grains
  • artichokes
  • onions

Disaccharides include lactose which is found in dairy, try switching to alternative dairy products like coconut or almond milk.

Monosaccharides are the simplest form of carbohydrates and sugars and includes fructose. Limit high glycemic fruits, eliminate refined carbohydrates and sugars.

Polyols are alcohol sugars such as xylitol, sorbitol, mannitol, and maltitol, avoid these.

One thought on “Ever Have Digestive Issues?

Leave a comment